Hi! I have put the blog on a temporary hiatus due to life stuff. However, I will be revamping the blog and hope to reopen it early 2014. Please watch our Facebook page for updates and for open scheduling.

Help wanted:

I am looking for reviewers and a blog admin to assist with scheduling and posting. If you are interested please email me at booksamour@gmail.com.

Thanks for stopping by and your patience.

Thursday, April 25, 2013

Guest Karolyn James share her Brothers of Rock series

When I sat down and finally decided to write Brothers of Rock, it wasn’t done on a whim.  This was a series that has been inside me for a LONG time.  I had the image of being at a concert and seeing a band interact on stage.  The show then ends and what happens?  The fans go home but what about the band?  This was where the series came from.  I wanted to explore to life of a famous band off stage.  I wanted to get the past the wild parties, the groupies, and all that and cut it down to people and relationships. 

In All Access (Brothers of Rock #1), it was about the leading singer and leader of the band, Johnnie.  The book was fun to write because I got to introduce the entire band.  Readers meet everyone and experience all their difference personalities.  They also get to see Johnnie navigate through love and some tough decisions to make both personally and professionally.  The book was a great introduction to life beyond the stage and how each band member reacts to the music and how each band member reacts when the music over.  Johnnie doesn’t want to consider himself the leader of the band and does his best to share decision making with the rest of the guys… but then a decision comes between he and a new love, Jess, and it’s a decision only he came make.  It was fun to create this love story in which Johnnie must come to terms with his life presently and his future, which is waiting for him not just in the eyes of Jess. 

Broken Sound (Brothers of Rock #2) follows Davey, lead guitarist for Chasing Cross.  A woman shows up at his hotel room with a baby and tells him he’s the father.  And just like that, Davey’s life is forever changed.  The band is on a touring break, Johnnie and Jess are away, and Davey is facing his past, present, and future alone.  The band manager wants to handle the situation through lawyers but Davey doesn’t want to do it that way… not with a baby at stake.  Just when things couldn’t get anymore confusing for Davey, he meets a woman that steals his heart.  The great part about writing Broken Sound was that the love story between Davey and Anna was challenged on each and every page.  From her haunting past to Davey’s potential future, they must battle their way together, that is, if they really want to be together.  When truths become exposed, both Davey and Anna are challenged separately, and the ending results will set the way for their future. 

When writing the books, I made it so each book can be read as a stand alone novel.  You do not need to continue the series to finish a story and you don’t necessarily need to read the books in order.  It’s preferred to read them in order because there are events that play out book after book, but the main storyline is created and satisfied in each book.  Coming up next in the Brothers of Rock series is Danny’s book.  He had to face tragedy in more than one way and no matter how much he wants the guys in Chasing Cross to help him, they can’t.  The series is set for at least five books since there’s five guys in Chasing Cross.  So far, thanks to the amazing readers out there, there has been expressed interest in expanding the Brothers of Rock series beyond five books… but that’s a little bit of time away!

Both All Access and Broken Sound are now available!

***For fans of Nashville the TV show and Bella Andre, the BROTHERS OF ROCK series is dramatic, sexy, romantic,and entertaining. It sizzles!***


With ALL ACCESS, a contemporary romance series begins that explores, life, love, and music. Join the five band members of Chasing Cross as they find that there's more to life beyond the stage.


Jess is caught off guard when a sexy stranger buys her a cup of coffee and asks her to sit with him. He's mysterious, nice, and even though he says the right things at the right time, Jess can sense that there's something hidden about him.

As Johnnie sits across from the beautiful woman, he can't believe she doesn't recognize him. Everyone does. It comes with the territory when you're the lead singer of one of the hottest bands in the world, Chasing Cross. With one more show to go before taking a small break in touring, it feels like luck is on Johnnie's side. That is, if he can find a way to tell Jess who he is, without scaring her off.

After her best friend begs her to come to a concert, Jess finds herself standing in the middle of a crowd. The lights are off, music begins, and the crowd erupts in cheers. She doesn't know much about the band, but that's all about to change. When the lights come on, Jess can't believe her eyes. The lead singer of the band is the man from the café.

Plucked from the crowd during the show, Jess makes her way backstage. The encore may have ended on stage, but the real show is just about to begin. Johnnie's passion quickly turns to romance but the more time he and Jess spend together, the more things get complicated. Johnnie has a big decision to make about himself and the band, testing his loyalty and love for the music, and when Jess's dreams start to come true, she starts to realize that true love exists, but it's not always an easy path to take.


The second book in the Brothers of Rock series is BROKEN SOUND, where lead guitarist, Davey, is faced with life changing decisions involving love, family, and as always, music.


Rockstars expect women to show up at their hotel room, but when a woman shows up with an infant and tells Davey he is the father, his world is turned upside down.

Anna is a teacher and part-time waitress, desperate to make enough to pay off debts left to her by an ex-boyfriend who made her life a living hell. When her boss schedules her for an extra shift, he tells her it's her job to take care of a special guest... lead guitarist of Chasing Cross, Davey. The second Anna meets eyes with Davey, she feels something she's wanted for a long time. But with someone famous? That's impossible. Besides, Davey is there with a date.

When Davey returns to the restaurant, sans date, he asks to see Anna. She doesn't understand what he would want with her. He is a man with a big heart, kind eyes, and the true power that only a real rockstar could have. Then Anna learns the truth of Davey's life, from his haunted past to his rocky present. Still, she longs to be part of his future. But when Anna's own past turns potentially deadly, life and love suddenly collide in a way that could hurt everyone and leave someone dead.



About the Author

Karolyn James is the pen name for award winning author, Karolyn Patterson. She’s been published over 100 times, reached bestseller lists on Amazon, and writes in both romance and erotic romance. Her two newest series are the romance hit, Brothers of Rock, and the erotic romance series, Rock Her Curves.

Twitter: @KarolynWrites
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/KarolynJamesAuthor
Blog: www.KarolynJames.wordpress.com


  1. It is this type of interesting thing with this post of yours. I had been interested with all the topic along with the flow in the story. Keep up to date the truly amazing work.
    toga costume